DholeraHelp
Overview

Dholera Master Plan and TP Schemes, Explained

Updated July 2026 · 3 min read · Sourced and labelled

Under the marketing, Dholera is a town-planning exercise on a huge scale. This guide explains the phases, the TP schemes and the zones without the jargon.

How to read this guide. Every figure is tagged DURABLE, REPORTED or TARGET, and sources are listed at the end. This is information, not investment advice, and we do not sell plots.

The phases and TP schemes

There are six Town Planning schemes, TP1 to TP6, all with draft schemes sanctioned. REPORTED

By phase (sanctioned plan figures): Phase I is TP1 + TP2 = 153 sq km (planned 2012-2022); Phase II is TP3 + TP4 = 126 sq km (2023-2032); Phase III is TP5 + TP6 = 142 sq km (2033-2042). Together about 422 sq km. REPORTED The individual TP3-versus-TP4 split is not separately stated.

Development is in three phases over about 30 years. Reported targets: Phase 1 around 2012-2022/25 (Activation Area), Phase 2 around 2023-2032 (airport and industry, TP3+TP4 = 126 sq km), Phase 3 around 2033-2042 (TP5+TP6 = 142 sq km, full 920 sq km, ~1M population target). TARGET The end year is stated inconsistently as 2040 or 2042, so we present it as a reported range.

TP1 and TP2

Phase I is TP1 + TP2 = about 153 sq km. TP1 is about 51 sq km (~12,750 acres) and TP2 is about 102 sq km (~25,000 acres). REPORTED TP2 holds the Activation Area and the ABCD building.

The land-use zones

The sanctioned plan defines zone types: industrial, residential, City Centre, High-Access Corridor, Knowledge & IT, Logistics, Strategic Infrastructure, Public Facilities, Sports and Recreation, Solar Park, Green Belt, CRZ, Agriculture and Village Buffer. REPORTED

The exact percentage split per zone is not reliably sourced (the original DSIRDA plan report link is dead), so we do not publish per-zone percentages. Total industrial area is about 11,000 hectares, with Phase-1 industrial gross land around 3,000 ha and land parcels from 0.5 to 150 ha.

The Activation Area

The Activation Area is the roughly 22.5 sq km phase-1 plug-and-play zone inside Town Planning Scheme 2, where the trunk infrastructure was built first. DURABLE The NICDC ledger reports its trunk infrastructure works as complete. REPORTED It is about 4.25% of the developable land. An older 2020 target of about 120,000 residents and 80,000 jobs for this zone has lapsed.

The Activation Area (~22.5 sq km) is about 4.25% of the developable land (~580 sq km). DURABLE It is the first phase built out, which is why it holds the ABCD building, the trunk utilities and most of the on-ground progress so far.

Who planned it

The master-plan concept is widely attributed to Halcrow (UK), with detailed planning by a local consultant. REPORTED This attribution is reported and not primary-source confirmed, so we present it as reported rather than certain.

FAQ

How many Town Planning schemes does Dholera have?

There are six Town Planning schemes, TP1 to TP6, all with draft schemes sanctioned. REPORTED

By phase (sanctioned plan figures): Phase I is TP1 + TP2 = 153 sq km (planned 2012-2022); Phase II is TP3 + TP4 = 126 sq km (2023-2032); Phase III is TP5 + TP6 = 142 sq km (2033-2042). Together about 422 sq km. REPORTED The individual TP3-versus-TP4 split is not separately stated.

What zones or land uses does the Dholera master plan have?

The sanctioned plan defines zone types: industrial, residential, City Centre, High-Access Corridor, Knowledge & IT, Logistics, Strategic Infrastructure, Public Facilities, Sports and Recreation, Solar Park, Green Belt, CRZ, Agriculture and Village Buffer. REPORTED

The exact percentage split per zone is not reliably sourced (the original DSIRDA plan report link is dead), so we do not publish per-zone percentages. Total industrial area is about 11,000 hectares, with Phase-1 industrial gross land around 3,000 ha and land parcels from 0.5 to 150 ha.

What is the Activation Area?

The Activation Area is the roughly 22.5 sq km phase-1 plug-and-play zone inside Town Planning Scheme 2, where the trunk infrastructure was built first. DURABLE The NICDC ledger reports its trunk infrastructure works as complete. REPORTED It is about 4.25% of the developable land. An older 2020 target of about 120,000 residents and 80,000 jobs for this zone has lapsed.

Sources for this guide
DSIRDA Sanctioned Development Plan ~2016 baseDholera SIR official 2026NICDC DMU report 30 Jun 2026GIDB Activation Area DSIR 2026Dholera SIR official & reference 2026

Use the tools

Go deeper with the interactive tools and the full answer library.